Train2Game News Mod of the Year 2015


Today marks day one of the 14th Annual Mod of the Year Awards.

A celebration of the years finest mods picked by the gaming community. For the next four weeks player votes will determine the top 100 (announced December 11) and then the overall winner announced shortly after Christmas.

Last year’s awards amassed a stunning 131,789 votes for a plethora of great mods. The 2014 podium saw Euro Truck Simulator 2 Multiplayer take first place, narrowly edging out amazing mods including S.T.A.L.K.E.R: Lost Alpha, Breaking Point among others. Previous winners include DayZ, Garrys Mod, Natural Selection and other mods which have gone on to become household names.

For more information on the event including a live scoreboard and how to vote head over to the official awards page.

From now until the close of 2015, join in on celebrating the phenomenal work modders do, in pursuit of creating something remarkable for us gamers to enjoy.

Train2Game News Vote for SpecialEffect for Tech4Good awards

SpecialEffectSpecialEffect are asking for your help in a David and Goliath style contest. The charity are up against Samsung for the National Technology4Good awards.

The Tech4Good Awards celebrate the hard work of people of all ages who use the power of computers and the Internet to make the world a better place. They are the only awards to highlight the wealth of charities, businesses and volunteers across the UK that harness the power of technology to benefit the community. The aim is to celebrate the hard work that these people put into making the world a better place.

All you need to do to vote for SpecialEffect to win this years award is simply create a tweet using the hashtag #T4GSpecialEffect. Every time your tweet is retweeted with that hashtag it counts towards another vote and there is no limit on how many times you can vote!

You can also vote by visiting

The votes ends next Monday at 5pm so you have the weekend to get tweeting!

Train2Game News: 2013 Golden Joystick award winners

Golden JoystickThe Golden Joystick awards were held recently in London and the list of winners have now been announced.

The majority of the awards you could expect with the one surprising exception of the winner of the Most Wanted category being The Witcher 3 over Xbox One and PlayStation 4. I’m not sure whether this says more about the next generation consoles or about the anticipation for The Witcher.

Other highlights include Oculus Rift being voted Innovation of the Year and Valve’s Steam service being named Platform of the Year. Activision’s Call of Duty was also inducted into the Hall of Fame.

A full list of the winners can be found below:

Best Newcomer
The Last of Us

Most Wanted in association with Playfire
Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

Best Indie Game
Mark of the Ninja

Best Visual Design
BioShock Infinite

Best Multiplayer
Payday 2

Best Gaming Moment in association with Absolute Radio
Far Cry 3 – The Definition of Insanity

Studio of the Year in association with MPG Universal
Naughty Dog

Innovation of the Year in association with T3
Oculus Rift

Best Storytelling
The Last of Us

Best Online Game
World of Tanks

Best Handheld Game
Assassin’s Creed 3: Liberation

YouTube Gamer Award in association with YouTube

Best Gaming Platform in association with Digital Spy

Best Mobile/Tablet Game of the Year
XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Game of the Year
Grand Theft Auto V

Hall of Fame
Activison: Call of Duty

Lifetime Achievement
Ken Levine