Train2Game News 20 Years Of Mod Winners

Since 2002 when ModDB first launched, the biggest event in the calendar each year, continues to be the Player Voted Annual Mod Awards.

Since its inception over 1 million players have voted for their favorite mods, with many winners and top 10’s going on to change the gaming industry in profound ways.

The 2021 ModDB Mod of the Year awards marks the 20th Anniversary of one of the most prestigious events in the industry. These awards find their origins in 2002 as a way to acknoledge and recognize mod makers worldwide, who change the games we play in creative, inspiring and unique ways.

The inaugural winner in 2002 was Natural Section, and the team behind this mod (Unknown Worlds) went on to create Subnautica. Another winner is Garry’s Mod, who went on to create Rust and is now working on S&Box. Every story is unique, and you can find the lineup of all 20 winners here.

Perhaps the most interesting story is not the mods that won, but those that missed out, because many of the most recognized and celebrated mods in the industry (that you can see in the Mod Hall of Fame) did not always place. This includes Counter-Strike and Team Fortress which were released before the awards began in 2002, while DotA was overlooked almost entirely as the early days of ModDB had its roots strongly in FPS mods. DayZ was the 2012 runner up behind Black Mesa, and amazingly PLAYERUNKNOWN’s Battle Royale (PUBG) was an editors choice in 2014 but never featured in the players choice voting.

To mark the occasion, Scott Reismanis, founder of DBolical and ModDB, said “The Mod of the Year Awards are a favorite time of ours, an opportunity to pause and reflect, celebrate mods and people behind the projects. It’s a great honor to be reaching our 20th year standing on the shoulders of giants, and we thank everyone who’s contributed to the community over that time.”

Please see the following links for our article reviewing the past twenty winners, as well as the article which takes a look at the unique award logos designed each year to mark the occasion: – Celebrating 20 Years of Mod WinnersAward Logo Designs Over the Years

Train2Game News Mod of the Year 2015


As 2015 reached its end, the 120,640 votes were tallied and it is time to crown the 2015 Mod of the Year.

This year saw many compelling entries however in the end it was Middle-Earth inspired Edain Mod that took out 1st place, followed closely by the strategically popular Rise of the Reds and Mental Omega taking out 2nd and 3rd place respectively.

Modding is all about morphing already amazing games into something different, quirky, better and all of this years winners did just that. The final top 10 includes:

10. Portal Stories: Mel

9. S.T.A.L.K.E.R: Call of Chernobyl

8. Fallout: Project Brazil

7. Thrawn’s Revenge: Imperial Civil War

6. Warsword Conquest

5. A Clash of Kings

4. Ultimate Apocalypse Mod

3. Mental Omega

2. Rise of the Reds

1. Edain Mod

Huge thanks to all modders and supporters of the awards who recognize the work these developers dedicate to their craft.

Train2Game News Mod of the Year 2015


Today marks day one of the 14th Annual Mod of the Year Awards.

A celebration of the years finest mods picked by the gaming community. For the next four weeks player votes will determine the top 100 (announced December 11) and then the overall winner announced shortly after Christmas.

Last year’s awards amassed a stunning 131,789 votes for a plethora of great mods. The 2014 podium saw Euro Truck Simulator 2 Multiplayer take first place, narrowly edging out amazing mods including S.T.A.L.K.E.R: Lost Alpha, Breaking Point among others. Previous winners include DayZ, Garrys Mod, Natural Selection and other mods which have gone on to become household names.

For more information on the event including a live scoreboard and how to vote head over to the official awards page.

From now until the close of 2015, join in on celebrating the phenomenal work modders do, in pursuit of creating something remarkable for us gamers to enjoy.

Train2Game News PlayStation 4 one handed controller

benheckonehandedps4_1Ben Heck, who makes some great projects for element14 and Farnell has created a one handed PS4 controller, to make gaming accessible for players with disabilities.

By moving the left analogue stick to the rear of the controller, the player is able to use their leg to manoeuvre the controller. The shoulder buttons and D-pad have also be rewired to the right side of the controller.

This is a great project that allows more people to experience the world of gaming that has helped a lot of us through our lives.

You can enjoy the video of the controller being built below thanks to